First blog post

Hey!

I hope everyone’s doing well!

Since this is my first blog post I’m going to take this opportunity to give you a little insight into the name of my blog; why I chose ย it and the meaning behind it.

You see, I started thinking about masks and what they symbolise. While hanging out with a friend we were taking some photos of ourselves wearing masks as for the the project we were working on it was necessary to hide our faces. That got me thinking. We were doing that for fun but I suppose in a more metaphorical sense aren’t a lot of us hiding behind a mask on a daily basis?

A lot of us are ashamed of who we really are. Or perhaps we don’t want to reveal a particular personality trait or the truth behind the way we act in certain situations. But is this right? Do we want to be living in a society where everyone is living behind masks and refraining from revealing their true and utterly beautiful selves?

I often wonder why exactly we hide behind these masks, these shields that we build up to imprison ourselves from sharing our identity. Personally I think some of the main reasons are fear and embarrassment. When we share with someone something sensitive and personal we want to know we can trust them and that they won’t judge us or bring that topic up in front of others and thus humiliate us. Therefore it’s something we’d lightly share with everybody and anybody.

It’s sad though, to think that we can’t show ourselves for who we really are,that some of us cannot be accepted in society . I understood that there are some things we genuinely don’t want to tell people, things that we want to remain secret and that’s perfectly fine. But think about it, is there anything you’d like people to know? Anything you’d like to express, to share with the world?

But yet we don’t because we’re afraid, the fear of judgement beholds us or whatever individual fears that hold us down. Sometimes I just wish we could take of these masks and be who we want to be.

Don’t you?

Do you feel the same way?

 

That’s it for now!

GirlMasked

 

 

10 thoughts on “First blog post

Add yours

  1. I definitely feel the same ๐Ÿ™‚ I think we hide behind them, like you said, to shield ourselves. We don’t want The world to know what our thoughts are, because for some reason we think it’ll make us vulnerable. That was an amazing first post; welcome to the blogosphere!

    Like

  2. Hi Kate,
    Welcome to the blogosphere and thank you for sharing your thoughts. Being on the “high-functioning” end of the Asperger’s spectrum, I fully identify with your masks. The same goes for my dysthymia and anxiety, all hidden disabilities. At the same time, I feel it’s very important to define ourselves on our own terms. Steve Silbeman did a wonderful job of documenting the history of this theme in NeuroTribes. All this means accepting ourselves for who we are.

    Like

    1. Thanks very much. No problem at all, thanks for taking the time to read them!
      I’m glad you understand what I was trying to convey. ๐Ÿ™‚
      And yes, that’s very true also.
      I haven’t heard of him but I shall look him up. Sounds good, thanks for mentioning it.

      Like

Leave a Reply

Blog at WordPress.com.

Up ↑