Holidays: 1. Arrival- Excitement and Nerves

I awoke at 7:30 and lay in bed contemplating what my surroundings would be like for the next week.  After some last minute packing and a tasty breakfast we were off to the airport. It took a while to find a parking spot, get the shuttle bus and of course the queue at the boarding gate was like a gigantic snake!

I was particularly excited as it was my first time at an airport and of course in an airplane. Unfortunately our flight was delayed . Children ran around by the boarding gate throwing the occasional tantrum while parents desperately tried to cease the almost uncontrollable din by fumbling with soothers and prising open packets of sweets.

When we finally boarded the plane I began to feel quite claustrophobic especially before we began moving and during take off. It seemed to me that we, the passengers, were squashed on top of each other, side by side like peas in a pod. It took a good while for me to feel slightly comfortable and at ease with myself.

The flight lasted over two hours. As the time went by I really enjoyed looking out the nearby window of the plane. It was fascinating to see how close the clouds were; so close that I felt that if the window could open I might even touch one. There was a spectacular view of all the snow capped mountains ranges ;most of which I saw I think were in Italy, where abouts I have no idea!

When we eventually landed and exited the plane a stifling heat awaited us. I didn’t mind watching the luggage go round and round on the conveyor belt, it was a bit of fun waiting for our luggage to arrive!

After collecting it we were greeted by our holiday rep and shown to the bus that would take us to our hotel. Throughout our journey the sun was beginning to set and the sky turned beautiful shades of oranges and yellows. Naturally I did my best to capture it all by taking a ridiculous amount of photographs!

We missed our evening meal at the hotel but the staff kindly kept us a small cold meal of bread rolls and a variety of hams and cheeses.

I was so excited to explore that it was quite unlike me to unpack my case full of clothes! We meandered around a few shops before heading to the lake front. The heat, as nice as it was, was almost unbearable. This weather called for a slush puppy! A cup of ice with a strawberry flavour certainly did the trick to quench my thirst! As we sat there slowly sipping our drinks and taking the odd night time photo we enjoyed watching the far away lightening illuminate the area and particularly the sky. It was a perfect ending to the evening!SAM_0038.JPGSAM_0030.JPG

SAM_0039.JPG
These are the some of the pictures of the sunset that I was talking about. Please bear in mind that they were taken through the window of a moving bus window!!
SAM_0072.JPG
A nice castle that we passed by on the way to the hotel
SAM_0134.JPG
Boats by the lake
SAM_1979
The hotel we stayed in for the week, picture taken at night time!
2 thoughts on “Holidays: 1. Arrival- Excitement and Nerves

Add yours

Leave a Reply

Create a free website or blog at WordPress.com.

Up ↑

