A day to remember; Titanic Experience, Belfast

Hello!

I hope you’ve all had a lovely last few days since my previous post!

As you can tell from the title I went to The Titanic Experience in Belfast. The drive up to Belfast took us about two hours and a half to arrive.  Usually I dislike long journeys especially in cars, nowhere to stretch your legs and have a walk about and worse still if you have a lot of luggage and baggage you can get all cramped. But this time the journey was quite enjoyable, I liked looking out the window and reading all the signposts to discover all different names of towns and villages that I hadn’t heard of before.

I’d always been quite interested in the Titanic and it’s creation and it’s poignant tragedy from a young age; I completed a project on it when I was twelve when we were given the opportunity at school to do a project on any topic we wished. I also entered a wordsearch competition with the Titanic theme to win a beautiful book  about the Titanic. I did win by the way!

Anyway when we arrived there was such a breathtaking view that we stopped for a minute to take some pictures. I’ll add some of them to this post. We checked in at the reception desk at the museum and we’re given advice on how we should spend our day. Firstly we wandered around this lovely boat, read the articles about the history of ship building and the part they played in the war. Next we went back to the museum to wait for our tour guide to bring us around the grounds of the museum while explaining the history of the ship building company; Harland and Wolff and also about the layout of the museum and its grounds and why they used certain materials.

Afterwards we ate dinner at the Gastro Pub there. Then it was time to go explore the museum!  There were many interactive devices, projectors, artefacts and more! I had a brilliant time wandering around taking pictures. It was amazing! The museum was huge I’d never seen such a great place before, I’m not joking!

When we’d finished admiring and learning we went for a coffee ,well a hot chocolate for me as I was feeling in the mood for it! We ended the evening by taking some final photos at the big Titanic letters outside the museum. The journey home seemed surprisingly shorter than the journey there.

SAM_2088SAM_2007

SAM_2019
Ever so dainty!

SAM_2024SAM_2028

SAM_2047
Cute suitcase!
SAM_2141.JPG
Close up shot of the design of a compass on the floor

SAM_2180.JPGSAM_2247.JPGSAM_2205.JPGSAM_2362.JPG

5 thoughts on “A day to remember; Titanic Experience, Belfast

Add yours

Leave a Reply

Create a free website or blog at WordPress.com.

Up ↑

