New Year’s Resolutions- A good thing or a bad thing???

Yes, this has been something I have been figuring out over the past while or maybe past year or two if I’m totally honest. I’ve come to the conclusion personally that new year’s resolutions can be both a good thing and a bad thing. Okay that’s diplomatic, I know, but hear me out! Please?

Even as a child I’d partake in this ritual of creating New Year’s resolutions and I’d forever fall into the trap with probably the majority of society of making resolutions and breaking them. But last year I stumbled across a piece of writing somewhere that stated that the fewer resolutions we make the more likely it is that we will stick to them. Maybe it’s obvious to some of you but to me it was a bit of an eye opener.

So in my last post I shared with you the resolutions made this year and I think there’s four main ones there. As far as I know many people swear by making at least 3 and no more than 5 and apparently it works. I’m not going to lie to you and tell you how great this tip is because I for one have never successfully completed any new year’s resolutions.

While this post so far is appearing to be pretty doom and gloom I am going to say straight away that that was not in fact my intention. What this post was meant to do what empathise with fellow people that struggle with the daunting task of making and sticking to new year’s resolutions. So without further ado lets make this post a little more upbeat.

I have previously viewed new year’s resolutions to be a negative thing there to remind me how much of a failure I am but maybe this year I’ll take a different spin on it and maybe this post will inspire even one of you to do the same.

The first thing I’d say you should do is pick at least one thing you’d like to do this year. Maybe it’s something you want to change about yourself, a new hobby you want to take on, or whatever! I don’t mind, it’s totally up to you. Now be specific about it. What I mean by this is don’t just say I want to exercise or go to the gym more. Say exactly how many times you will do this say in a week. Mine is to exercise at least twice a week.  I could and probably should be a bit more specific about this and say around what time on a school day I plan to exercise or at weekends and where I will go. But hey that’s something for me to work on in the next day or two! It doesn’t have to be fitness related. Take for example my other resolution about writing in a diary. I want to write in a diary (action)every night (time) just before bedtime.

The other thing I want to finish by saying is don’t be too hard on yourself if you’re finding your resolutions hard or even break one or two. It’s okay to make mistakes, it’s only natural! So feel sorry for yourself for a few moments, because lets face it who doesn’t , and then pick yourself up again and be determined to complete these new year’s resolutions you have set yourself.

Sometimes I think it’s a good idea to think of how you will feel when you have a completed you have fulfilled your resolutions at the end of 2017. You will feel stronger, prouder, wiser and truly happy.

And for those of you who aren’t making resolutions this year, that’s okay, its alright not to take part in the this tradition. Take a break, that’s cool too!

But for those of you who are I wish you the best of luck with them. I believe in you and your resolutions and I know you can do well with them!

Don’t hesitate to comment below with your very own new year’s resolutions and cheer each other on. I’d love to hear how you are all getting on and what your new year’s resolutions are!!

Byeeeeeeee!!!

 

6 thoughts on “New Year’s Resolutions- A good thing or a bad thing???

Add yours

  1. Really enjoyed this post. It was really interesting to see your views on resolutions! Good luck for doing the exercise and writing in your diary! I want to read and sleep more, and also put aside more time to do things I like to do 🙂 x

    Liked by 1 person

    1. Aw so glad you liked it! Thanks so much for reading my post! Thank you, surprisingly the exercise has been going well despite stopping jogging every couple of minutes to take pics of sunsets haha.
      They sound really good!It’s definitely important to look after ourselves and do fun stuff! I’ve been neglecting reading unfortunately due to schoolwork but you’ve reminded me now to get back into it! Best of luck with your resolutions!! 🙂

      Liked by 1 person

    1. Yeah that’s actually very true. Oh best of luck with the driving! It’s a handy thing to learn and important too. Ah yes having fun is a great one. Good luck with your goals and thanks so much for reading this post

      Liked by 1 person

Leave a Reply

Blog at WordPress.com.

Up ↑

