Keeping the meaning of Christmas alive

Helloooooo!

Why I’ve taken to repeating the last letter of my word I do not know.

Anyway…

I hope you are all having a wonderful 2017 so far. I myself haven’t done anything out of the ordinary except read my new books, attempt to do some study and then half tidied and cleared out my old notes and stuff I don’t need. But sure I’ll finish later…haha. I will be productive…I promise! What have you been up to so far??

Anyway for those of you that celebrate Christmas you’ll know that Christmas is a time for giving and not just giving presents. While giving presents to loved ones is a lovely idea it is not the only thing we can give at Christmas. What is more important that we give is love.

I know Christmas is over but the spirit of Christmas doesn’t have to end too. As I said above Christmas is about showing, sharing and giving love. But also it’s not just giving love to those we know and like it’s also and maybe more importantly about showing love to those we wouldn’t normally be too fond of. That’s the true spirit of Christmas; showing love to anyone and everyone regardless of their gender, religion, race or background.

So you may ask, what has this got to do with the new year?

Well, allow me to explain:

At Christmas most of us make the effort to be kind to one another and help out around the house or do a good turn for others. After Christmas we’re hit with the new year and the January blues. Most of us are trying to find our feet in this new year and trying to stick to our new year’s resolutions while attempting not to feel too sad that the Christmas season is over. A lot of the time we forget to continue to embrace the beauty of the Christmas spirit throughout the new year, particularly at the beginning of it.

I’ve been thinking a lot about this recently and I’ve noticed how that when we help people we feel pretty good about ourselves. I don’t quite know why this is, maybe it’s because we know we’ve done a good turn by helping someone and it’s comforting to know we’re doing good or that we feel like good people.

So perhaps 2017 will be the year for us all to be a little bit extra nicer. Together we can all make the world a better place by starting small in our locality and then the kindness will spread. I don’t know about you but if someone did a good turn for me I’d like to do a good turn for either them or someone else. It just gives you that feel good feeling and also helps the world and the people in it too!!

Do you feel the same way?

Leave a Reply

Create a free website or blog at WordPress.com.

Up ↑

