How to stop procrastinating-or at least try!

Hey!

Hope you are having a wonderful day! Particularly this year I’m trying to be more productive. At the beginning of June I have exams called the Leaving Cert that I’ve been studying really hard for so between now and then I’m going to do my best to not procrastinate as much as possible!

Are any of you in school or college at the moment?

Are you studying for exams too?

With the huge variety of social media out there it’s so easy to spend much longer than you intend checking notifications, texting,tweeting, etc. I in particular am terrible for doing this!! I say I’ll just tweet something super quick and then put my phone anyway but end up getting distracted by new messages, tweets or links to exciting blog posts haha! And that 30 second tweet can turn into at least twenty minutes of scrolling and reading and tweeting!!!

I’m determined to stop this, or at least try improve. If I;m doing a task I want to stick to it for a certain amount of time with no distractions whatsoever. If I’m studying I’m not going to start doodling, if I’m blogging I won’t start tweeting and forget to finish a post until later! I really want to go to sleep every night knowing that I did my best, did as much as possible and was productive. I’ve around four months left of school and I want to put my heart and soul into them and get them most out of them because as they say you get the most put of what you put into life.

The main thing that’s being working for me is setting a timer. I have one on my phone. The app I use is called and I’d really recommend it. There are no ads and it’s really quite simple to use. For the first while I’d only set it for around 10 or 15 minutes. I know this is kind of short but when forming new habits I like to start small and I find that works best for me. After the time is up I leave the room and do something different for about five minutes. Usually that’s checking my phone, making a cup of tea or finishing a chapter of my book. After a few days I increased the time to twenty minutes and then thirty minutes and slowly but surely I got into the swing of it.

To eliminate all distractions I left my phone downstairs as far away as possible so I could get rid of all temptation to use it. It’s hard, I know!!! My desk also faces the window away from my shelves and stacks of books so keeping the temptation at bay haha. It’s hard not to procrastinate, I totally get that but I also think another good way to look at is to think very carefully about what you’re doing and why you’re doing it. Whenever I feel like procrastinating while studying I try stop myself and ask myself what’s the reason I am studying. Then I think about how much I want my grades to improve and realise that that’s more important than procrastinating and I usually get back to studying. Usually…

That’s it for now! I’m by no means perfect at stopping myself from procrastinating but I’m trying and I think or at least I hope that’s what matters. Do you do anything to keep yourself motivated and stop procrastinating?

If you can dream it you can do it! -Walt Disney

10 thoughts on “How to stop procrastinating-or at least try!

Add yours

  1. I use the timer trick too! I usually set mine for an hour or two, because my productivity tends to be assignment-based and unlike a lot of people, I’m really not good with shorter sessions. I like to know that I have one big chunk to do and then it’s over, then I can do what I like for the rest of the day. When I’m having bad days mental health wise, I’ll cut that down to half an hour or something, and it’s good to know that my energy only has to last so long before I shove that aside for the day.
    Great post!

    Liked by 1 person

    1. Wow that’s great that you can do assignments for an hour! My concentration would just go by then! Fair play to you 🙂
      That’s a good idea, I love the feeling of having study done and being able to chill out for the rest of the day.
      Yeah, I’ve also found I have to take it easy on days when I’m particularly stressed or anxious but once I get something done even if its only small it seems to give me a little boost. But yeah, I do think it is important to go easy on ourselves on bad days…good idea to reduce the time.
      And thank you! I’m so glad you liked it! 🙂

      Liked by 1 person

Leave a Reply

Blog at WordPress.com.

Up ↑

