There’s no off button with anxiety

Hello!

I hope you are having a lovely week and if you’re not don’t panic, next week is a new fresh week and you can start all over again . This weeks blog post as you an probably tell from the title is about anxiety. Anxiety is something that has affected me a lot in past few years. I’ve been a bit hesitant about writing a post about anxiety, I’m not entirely sure why..I think it’s because the internet is such a big place and I’m sharing my experiences or feelings with everyone on it. But after some thinking about I decided to begin sharing at least a little bit on my blog because there are such a large amount of people not only in the country where I live but in the world as a whole and maybe by sharing this one post some of you out there my feel comforted and understand that you are not alone or not any less normal by feeling like this.

Anxiety is a horrible condition to have to suffer with and to be honest with you I wouldn’t wish it on my worst enemy…I don’t have enemies but anyway you get what I mean… But today’s post won’t be a rant about how much I hate anxiety or what triggers it, today’s post is about me facing up to reality and realising I or anyone can’t wave a magic wand and make anxiety go away completely in the blink of an eye.

I think everyone goes through this stage, the stage when you think that if you go for counselling or watch some meditation videos, etc that you will magically get better after the first few times. I think somewhere in the back of our minds we know that this is not true. We know that we can’t get better overnight but in our hearts we desire it so much that we make ourselves believe it. I think with anxiety it is easy to cling on to something and be completely sure that it will work overnight. But from personal experience I’ve learned that it will only work after a long period of time and that has really upset and frustrated me because it’s something I have really wanted to just go away.

I don’t know if any of you out there can relate to what I am trying to say but if you do I hope this post is of some comfort or consolation to you because what I am trying to say is that it doesn’t go away completely, maybe it never will but we have to accept that that’s okay and our anxiety can be a part of us but we can use it to our strength to become that part of us that makes us stronger.

Basically, what I’m trying to say is that there’s no quick fix for anxiety and for anyone who also has anxiety you’ll understand how frustrating that is. And if you do I can really empathise with you. I’ve learned the hard way that anxiety doesn’t magically vanish but the most important thing is that it can improve and we can control it rather than it controlling us. Just because it won’t go away immediately doesn’t mean that it won”t get easier, it just takes a lot of hard work, patience and determination which you can do because if I’m trying so can you!

Things take time but in the end they will work out.

I hope you liked this post. I know it’s a change from my usual sort of posts but I felt like sharing it and hope you don’t mind the change.

By the way, I’m sorry this post is a day or two late, had a busy weekend with family and friends but I’m on my midterm break from school this week and I am planning to write up a few blog posts so they’ll be on time in the coming weeks each Saturday!

girlmasked

10 thoughts on “There’s no off button with anxiety

Add yours

    1. Glad you understand. Yes, that is very true and very sad. That shouldn’t happen, but unfortunately it does. One cannot just simply “snap out of it”, getting better takes time and effort and also support from others. We can only hope that this will change over time. πŸ™‚

      Liked by 1 person

  1. I love this post! Not the fact that you suffer from anxiety, of course, but the words you wrote speak such truth. The amount of people in my life who have underestimated the struggles of my anxiety because “doesn’t everyone experience that when they’re faced with situations outside of their comfort zone?” without understanding the true force behind an anxiety disorder.
    I hope you’re in a good place with your anxiety, and if not, keep on truckin’. It can’t control you forever, right? Good luck in your recovery! I hope you enjoy your mid-term break, too.

    Liked by 1 person

    1. Aw thank you, I’m so glad that you like this post! πŸ™‚
      Yeah I wasn’t sure whether to post it or not but I wanted to be as honest a possible and highlight this issue. Yes, I totally agree with you, I think unless a person suffers from anxiety it is very hard for them to fully understand what it is like to have it.
      Thank you! I’m getting there! Hope you’re keeping well yourself.
      Thanks, I’m so gad to be off! πŸ™‚

      Liked by 1 person

  2. Sorry, I only got to read this post now, I haven’t been using WordPress lately. This is a really great and important post; informative and relatable. Thanks for posting this ☺

    Liked by 1 person

Leave a Reply

Blog at WordPress.com.

Up ↑

