Day 2: The Good, the bad and the ugly

I always hate writing the good things about myself, I feel too boastful and besides I always find it hard to see the good in myself. Are any of you guys like that too?  So one or two things that can be seen as good about me is my ability to talk about anything I’m passionate about for ages especially books! I will literally not stop talking once you get me started!

I’m also not afraid to stand up for what I believe in and am quite opinionated or so I’ve been told anyway! I personally feel that it’s so important to defend your views and make sure they are heard and never let anyone knock them. We are all entitled to our own opinion and just because you may disagree with someone’s opinion that gives you no right whatsoever to disrespect it. That is why I’m always eager to politely and respectful defend in my many opinions!!

I’m also kind or at least I try to be and I try my very best to look out for others. I one of my friends or family members is having a bad day or going through a tough time I will be there to listen and be a source of support and a shoulder to cry on. I’ve often rang my friends after school to see how they’re doing as I genuinely care about them. I also try to make a conscious effort to be friendly and show kindness to people who aren’t in my friendship circle and give them a smile or a little wave to be friendly.

Now on to the bad side of me…!!

Maybe we shouldn’t say bad, more like our weaknesses or flaws.. I don’t know, but I suppose personally I do see them as bad things but of course we shouldn’t knock ourselves too much as we’ve got to remember that we’re only human.

I’m very hard on myself. I’m a perfectionist. If I don’t get things right the first time round I beat myself up over it and give myself a hard time over it. It’s just a part of me and it has been ever since I was a child in primary school but in latter years it’s started to have a negative impact on me as it creates a huge amount of stress and anxiety. I put a huge amount of pressure on myself to look good, say the right things, get good grades, etc.

I let my pride get in the way too much. By this I mean that I won’t let my guard down and I see certain things that I do that are normal as stupid and weak. For example it takes me so long to open up about anything that’s on my mind as I stigmatise myself and think that I should be able to sort things out by myself when in fact it’s perfectly normal that we all need a little helping hand every now and then. I also very rarely cry in front of anyone and have become extremely used to stopping tears and crying in private to hide it from others. I’m lately teaching myself that it’s okay to cry and I shouldn’t see it as a weakness. This’ll take a while to sink in of course but it’ll be worth it in the end.

Yeah so that’s the main strengths and weaknesses I have, I hope you liked learning a  little more about me!

Sorry this post is a day late, I had lots of schoolwork to do last night and I was exhausted from the week back to school, it’s been hectic settling back in after the midterm break and getting my mock results back!

But lets look on the bright side, it’s the weekend , two school free days and lots of time for blogging!!

Hope you all have a great weekend!

2 thoughts on “Day 2: The Good, the bad and the ugly

Add yours

  1. It’s as important to notice the things we do well at, as well as the things we aren’t so good at! I definitely recognise the perfectionistic trait–it’s something I have, and hate, as well! Loved this blog post, as always.

    Liked by 1 person

    1. Ah that’s very true, thank you, makes me feel a little better about myself to think about the good things!
      Glad I’m not alone with the perfectionism! It’s definitely something I have to work on! Aw sorry to hear that! Hopefully with time we’ll both overcome it or at least improve on it!
      Thank you, really appreciate your support! 🙂

      Liked by 1 person

Leave a Reply

Blog at WordPress.com.

Up ↑

