It’s okay not to be okay

Hey there,

I’m writing this curled up on my bed while watching one of the recent videos from PointlessBlog/Alfie Deyes in an attempt to distract myself from my racing anxious thoughts.

I wasn’t feeling amazing this morning but I was feeling relatively okay. Then a couple of different things happened throughout the day that really increased my anxiety levels and has me feeling pretty weak and shaky and a little out of breath. 

Im trying to take it easy. I have some more homework left, ironically it’s a blog post for English class. Afterwards I’ll probably put my PJ’s on and try get to bed by eleven. I think that’s all we can do when we’re not feeling the best; just take a step back and look after ourselves.

Feeling like this reminded me of what was said to me in my last counselling appointment. I was talking about a pretty personal and difficult time in my life. I was told: 

“It’s okay to have have low moods and go through tough times and suffer from anxiety” 

Now after a few sips of my camomile and peach tea and three youtube videos later I’m feeling slightly better. 

I will have difficult days, some worse than others but I’ll get through them and I don’t have to beat myself up for feeling like this and neither do you. 

We all have horribly upsetting times in our lives but it’s acceptable to feel down and anxious and experience many other emotions. With the right support and love we can get better and accept ourselves for who we are. 

I’ll leave you with one of my favourite quotes: 

“It’s okay not to be okay” 

Lots of love and warm wishes,

girlmasked

It’s a long road but it’s worth it 

25 thoughts on “It’s okay not to be okay

Add yours

  1. It sucks that you are having a really bad day. It takes a lot of strength to be open and honest about it online, but the coping mechanisms you have mentioned have probably helped a lot of people. Netflix is my safe haven when Iโ€™m super anxious, so I think we have similar ones, haha! I hope you feel better tomorrow, Kate.

    Liked by 1 person

    1. Thank you so much!
      Thanks, glad you think so, sometimes opening up about these things can really help and I also hope it can help others by reading it too!
      Ah yes Netflix is great!! I love watching light hearted shows like Gilmore Girls when I’m feeling anxious. It can act as a great distraction. Haha yes I think so too!!
      Thank you very much, I’m feeling a lot better now, caught up on some sleep and took it easy the past day or two. Glad it’s the weekend now!!
      Hope you’re keeping well yourself.
      Thanks as always for reading ๐Ÿ˜Š

      Like

    1. Thanks so much! You’re definitely right! Self care is so important, as you said taking a step back a taking some time to try relax and not overwork can really help.
      Thanks for reading โ˜บ

      Liked by 1 person

  2. Sucks to hear that your having a down day, I hope your feeling better. Another great post. It shows great courage to share how your feeling and what your going through online and admire your strength xx

    Liked by 1 person

    1. Thank you!
      You’re definitely right. Especially with suffering from anxiety we all know how much there are tough days. Thank you, a few days on now and I’m feeling a lot better.
      Thanks for reading ๐Ÿ˜Š

      Like

  3. I relate to this so much. There are days where the anxious thoughts attack you – Other times, when the day feels perfect, and you have no idea what the word anxiety even means! Still, I’m glad that you’re getting through the tough times, one day at a time. It’s all you can do. โค

    Liked by 1 person

  4. Yeah, you’re thoughts are so true,girl! I have hard period right now and sometimes i don’t want to talk to people while i’m having hard times. But i get it wheres good and bad days ๐Ÿ™‚ I know you decide what colors you paint your life: )

    Liked by 1 person

    1. Aw thanks!
      So sorry to hear you’re going through a hard time. I do hope things improve for you soon. ๐Ÿ˜Š
      Oh that’s a wonderful way of thinking of life, I will definitely think more of that!

      Liked by 1 person

  5. Yes! I absolutely love that quote. If there’s one thing I’ve learned through my own recovery is that there will be days when you feel like giving up and like no one cares. And that is perfectly fine. We must acknowledge and own those thoughts, but also rationalize them and tell ourselves “tomorrow is another day.” Wonderful post!

    Liked by 1 person

    1. Me too! Glad you like it!
      That is so true, we all have tough days.
      Yes, that is a really great way of thinking.
      Thank you very much! I’m delighted that you liked it! ๐Ÿ˜Š

      Like

  6. Thank you so much for this. Recently – or rather over the past few months – I’ve been feeling pretty bad but posts like this, which just tell me it’s alright, make it a little better. I hope you’re feeling okay xx

    Liked by 1 person

    1. You are very welcome โ˜บ So sorry to hear that, I honestly do hope things improve for you. As always, I am here for you. Yeah, it’s always reassuring to know it’s okay to feel how you’re feeling, I think anyway for me too. Thank you, I appreciate that. I’m getting there, I’ve just had a lot of stuff going on over the past few weeks. Thanks again โ˜บ

      Liked by 1 person

Leave a Reply

Blog at WordPress.com.

Up ↑

