Why I dislike to do lists

Hello!

Hope everyone is having a lovely weekend! I had a great relaxing morning with my good friend and did some studying and now I am ready to start blogging!!

Today’s blog post is something I have been meaning to blog about for quite some time. It is a topic that is quite important to me and has really had an impact on me. To do lists are highly recommended by almost everybody and I can see exactly why. They’re great for organising your day, setting goals and overall, getting work done. There’s nothing better than ticking off each item on your to do list as you go and feeling satisfied that you have completed each one at the end of the day.

That’s all well and good but I have one slight problem with these prestigious to do lists. At the risk of sounding incredibly lazy and foolish what happens if your to do list is just too overwhelming? What if there are too many to do’s to do?

How do you stop  your to do list becoming an impossible growing mountain?

I have just the solution!

Make a “what I did”” list instead.

This can be hard to get used to but it is definitely worth it in the long run. It was recommended to me a while back when I explained to someone how I was finding to do lists too much of a struggle. I was overwhelmed by the huge amount of tasks set out before me that the mere thought of trying to complete any of them made me so anxious, This method really changes your mindset and makes you proud of the work you’ve achieved.

If you’re still a bit sceptical of the idea…and that’s fine, I was too, I’d recommend dividing your page into two separate columns. One for “to do’s” and one for “What I did”. Then you compare each side and hopefully there will be more on the “What I did#2 side.

I personally prefer just writing “What I did today” and numbering them as it really motivates me to do more in my day and it makes me feel a little more proud of myself and what I have achieved each day. Whenever I am feeling unmotivated I am able to look back at previous days and see all the hard work I have done in regards to studying, blogging, cleaning, etc. I write in a hardback red notebook that I received for Christmas. It’s like a diary as it has each day of the week and a couple of lines under each.

Have you ever tried this method of organising your day?

Which do you prefer; “to do” or “what I did list”?

As always thanks for reading and I hope you have a super week!

girlmasked 

39 thoughts on “Why I dislike to do lists

Add yours

    1. Thanks, glad you think so!
      I was the exact same and when I tried this method it began to really help me.
      Great, hope it helps you! 🙂

      Like

  1. Definitely a “what I did” list for me…I’m too spontaneous for “to do’s” and as much as I love a list (favourite things/ places I’ve visited etc) ticking off a list of jobs just isn’t my thing, they always put me off doing anything at all

    Liked by 1 person

    1. Glad you can understand where I’m coming from. Yes, I’m really getting into writing lists, would love to start bullet journalling.
      Yeah sometimes all the things on the list can seem so long, once motivated to start I never want to stop haha!!
      Thanks for reading! 🙂

      Like

  2. I love this idea. I often feel overwhelmed even by small things like washing up and vacuuming. A what I did list would be lovely to show myself that I’m not as unproductive as I think sometimes. 🙂

    Liked by 1 person

    1. So glad you like it! Can’t take the credit for it though, I didn’t make it up! I was advised to use this method earlier this year. Ah yes I can definitely relate to that, even the things that seem simple can be really overwhelming, especially if you have a long list of things to get through.
      Ah that’s great, I hope it helps!
      Thanks for reading! ☺

      Like

  3. Is it bad that I like both? A laid back to do list to help me get a grip of what I would like to do, but then a what I did after to see how much I achieved 🙂 as it’s good to have an aim but not good to get stressed about trying to do anything 🙂
    Sophieannetaylor.com

    Liked by 1 person

  4. I definitely understand how todo lists can be overwhelming! I’ve been there, but I help get over this by adding small tasks on their too like “eat lunch” or “drink a glass of water”, stuff that I know will definitely get done, to make me feel better. However, “what I did” lists sound like a great positive idea! I might give them a try!
    Jas xx

    Liked by 1 person

    1. Ah thanks, glad you understand what I mean!
      Ah sorry to hear you felt like this, I know how awful it can feel when to do lists are so overwhelming!
      That is a great idea, thanks for sharing, I must try that!
      Great, let me know if you do and what you think of it! 🙂

      Liked by 1 person

    1. So glad you like this idea!!
      Can’t take the credit for it I’m afraid as I didn’t come up with it, was advised to try it out!
      I don’t do bullet journalling myself but I would love to try it!

      Like

    1. So glad you like it! I was delighted that I was advised to use this method as it has really helped me.
      Yes it certainly does and really boosts my confidence gradually with each thing I do.
      Yes!! Hope it helps you, let me know what you think of it! 🙂

      Like

  5. I do think this depends on the person and what helps them operate to get tasks done more efficiently, for me, I like to do lists because it sets my agenda out and I do feel more motivated/inclined to get it done if I have physically written it out

    Liked by 1 person

    1. Yes that is so true, different methods work for different people. That’s great! In general, writing things out out on paper can be good to see it and process it.
      Thanks for reading! 🙂

      Like

    1. Thank you, I’m glad you like it!
      I was so glad I was told about this way of organisation as it really helps me!
      No problem at all, I hope it helps you! 🙂

      Like

    1. I’m glad you like it! Can’t take the credit for it myself as I didn’t make it up! But I definitely love using it myself, it’s really helpful and makes me feel glad that I’ve done even one or two things. I understand what you mean. No problem at all,I’m so glad that you like it! Thanks for reading!

      Like

  6. I’ve never tried this but I think I will. To-do lists always stress me out because I get overwhelmed, just as you said. I think a more effective way would be to do what you suggested – thanks!! 🙂 xx

    Liked by 1 person

  7. Is it weird to comment on random blogs? I’m new to the whole reaching out to other bloggers thing.
    But I’m gonna do it anyways.
    This is a great idea.
    I will need to do some stuff to add to my “things I’ve done” list though

    Liked by 1 person

Leave a Reply

Create a free website or blog at WordPress.com.

Up ↑

