Revision Tips

Hi!

Hope everyone had a nice weekend.

This post is dedicated to all of you studying for exams at the moment. A huge thanks to My Teenage Blog for suggesting that I write a post about revision, here it is!  I myself have exams on Wednesday, hence the late post as I’ve been studying hard!

  1. Eliminate all distractions: Ok this is an awfully tough one but I had to put it in! It’s very tempting to scroll trough twitter, send out a few tweets or like a few instagram posts. I’d advise you to either leave your phone on the other side of the room turned off  or if that’s not good enough leave it downstairs. As they say, out of sight, out of mind! Think of exactly what you want to achieve and realise that it’s too important to let social media jeopardise that. Easier said than done, I can tell you but it is definitely worth it.
  2. Test yourself: Writing notes is great. But no matter how many pages of colour coded and highlighted notes you have it doesn’t prove that you have been retaining any information. What I like to do is read over my notes and then the next day I put them away and write out all I can remember on a blank sheet of paper. I write what I didn’t remember underneath in a different colour pen so that I’m sure to remember it next time I revise the topic
  3. Familiarise yourself with exam papers: I only recently realised how important this is. You can really notice a pattern throughout the years. Besides, I do think it’s very useful to get to know how the questions are phrased to they all make sense on the big day
  4. Pace yourself: There’s no point trying to study for five hours straight, you’ll wear yourself out and your concentration will be gone for the rest of the week. I like to study for about forty minutes and have a ten minute break. A little study every day will amount to something big rather than a large amount of study in one burst which will only amount to something small.
  5. Form a study group: Now this only works if the members of the group are focused and won’t distract each other. I like getting together with my friends and picking a section of a subject to study. We have the opportunity to share notes and essays and also to quiz each other as well as asking important questions.
  6. Find out what type of learner you are: You could be a visual learner like me and like writing things out to learn them. You could be an auditory learner and use methods like recording yourself to learn of material for exams and listening to it while walking to school. I think it’s important to try out all different study methods and see what works best for you.
  7. Reward yourself: After studying really hard it’s important to reward yourself as it really can motivate you to come back to studying later on. You can reward yourself with meeting up with some friends, watching an episode of your favourite show, anything! I like to say to myself that if I do lots of work during the day I can have Sunday evening off to relax.

 

That’s it for now, I do hope these tips helped you and that maybe you can use them in the lead up to your exams.

Best of luck!

girlmasked

7 thoughts on “Revision Tips

Add yours

    1. When do they start?
      Ah yes, that’s the right attitude to have! You’ve got this!
      Thank you so much, I’m so glad you think so!
      No problem ☺
      And thank you for reading my post and for your kind words ☺

      Liked by 1 person

  1. Although I’m not doing exams at the moment, these are some great pieces of advice! I love the idea of a study group, though like you said, you have to be sure you pick people who aren’t going to distract you. Distracting myself with social media is something I’m SO bad at, even when it comes to assignments, haha! Great post.

    Liked by 2 people

  2. Such helpful tips! I finished my exams a while ago now for my second year of Uni and I can’t stress enough how important eliminating distractions and pacing yourself is. Thanks for sharing! Xo

    Liked by 2 people

Leave a Reply

Create a free website or blog at WordPress.com.

Up ↑

